• Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 DJS

• 5,798 posts
  • NO

Posted 22 March 2005 - 08:11 PM

**TOPIC SPLIT FROM TERRI SCHIAVO THREAD IN IMMORTALISM**

Shadegrown

Cryopreservation arrives too late (to put it mildly) when the parts of her brain that contained her memory and personality are long gone and scavenged by the body. Mature stem cell engineering wouldn't bring Terri back either. Somehow growing her a new brain intracranially would merely create another human being, an infant's mind from scratch in a woman's body.

Hey Shadegrown. :) I agree with almost everything you said except the above quotation. Now I understand that this is a slightly tangental train of thought (and I am by no means an expert when it comes to neuro-science...Peter, where are you at? :) ), but I think with our current level technological sophistication it is just to early to conclusively state that Terri's "memories and personality" are gone forever. It remains an open possibility that her "vital essence" (for lack of a better term) remains locked away somewhere inside of her brain. Keep in mind, I'm not saying that this is the case, only that it is too soon to tell. This is why I advocate cryo-preservation. We should preserve her brain, take it forward with us into the future and then, using advanced future technologies such as full blown nano, see if Terri is "still there" or if she has been irrevocably lost.

*Note* I am advocating what I believe is the correct Immortalist position. I do not believe that from within our current social paradigm cryo-preservation is even a remote possibility in the case of Terri Schiavo.

Edited by DonSpanton, 22 March 2005 - 11:02 PM.

#2 Lazarus Long

• Life Member, Guardian
  • 8,116 posts
  • Location:Northern, Western Hemisphere of Earth, Usually of late, New York

Posted 22 March 2005 - 09:13 PM