Photo
- - - - -

Methylene Blue protocol

• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 bernard

• 355 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 10:42 PM

I've never used methylene blue before. Would someone suggest a protocol for beginners please. What are the possible sides. What are possible interactions with other drugs positive and negative. How long should it be taken. What's the end result ?

#2 stablemind

• 520 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 06:12 AM

Please see attachment for the dosing instructions (60 mcg)

Attached Files

Edited by stablemind, 07 October 2012 - 06:13 AM.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Rent this spot in Nootropics Topics to support Longecity (this will replace the google ad).

#3 bernard

• Topic Starter
  • 355 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 09:59 AM

Oh thanks so much. That's so nice.

"Methylene blue is a monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI),[6] and if infused intravenously at doses exceeding 5 mg/kg, may precipitate serious serotonin toxicity, serotonin syndrome, if combined with any selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) or other serotonin reuptake inhibitor (e.g., duloxetine, sibutramine, venlafaxine, clomipramine, imipramine).[7]
Methylene blue is also structurally similar to chlorpromazine and the typical antipsychotics. It is the basic compound from which chlorpromazine and many other antipsychotics are made.[8]
Methylene blue is a component of a frequently prescribed urinary analgesic/anti-infective/anti-spasmodic known as "Prosed", a combination of drugs which also contains phenyl salicylate, benzoic acid, hyoscyamine sulfate, and methenamine (aka hexamethylenetetramine and not to be confused with 'methanamine').["

Is this a MAOI only or there's more to it ?

Edited by Tatsumaru, 07 October 2012 - 10:07 AM.

#4 bernard

• Topic Starter
  • 355 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 11:07 AM

More from wiki: