• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Adverts help to support the work of this non-profit organisation. To go ad-free join as a Member.

Photo

aniracetam

racetam australia

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 breakfast

• 4 posts

Posted 15 January 2013 - 12:26 PM

ok

let me introduce myself

I am a doctor in my 30s, returning to university study for a masters this year.

I have a few mental obstacles, one of which is a daily battle with musical loops going over and over. Advertising is just cruel. For some time I have avoided television for this reason. But it doesn't stop there. I have a few other repetitive thought schemata, equally or even more annoying, as well as compulsive touching the area where side burns normally reside or my hairline. I cannot have anything other than short hair as the touching or twiddling becomes too distracting. Perhaps a signalling issue in a frontostriatal loop from cortical areas dealing with certain engrams to specific procedural areas of the basal ganglia is ultimately responsible.

This is not the same as OCD or trichotillomania, though incorporates elements of both and with the advent of the internet, I feel confident there are enough people who have this constellation of problems, which is not usefully captured by contemporary descriptive nosology.

To give you a mental picture of what this is like, I recall seeing an old chinese guy once when I was at a bus station, many years ago. He had male pattern baldness and not a great deal of hair left, but he sat there, combing over and over again, as though behaviourally locked. Now imagine the mental variant, including music. It is easy enough to harness attention to work sufficiently n the workplace as there are a lot of stimuli involved, but when there are less, eg study or a speaker in front of a group, or in a group, or sometimes just one, it is often quite another matter.