• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Does anyone think their homebrew c60/oo is "better" than commercial?

homemade

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Junk Master

• 1,032 posts

Posted 13 November 2015 - 05:20 PM

Not just cheaper?

I'm about to make a home brew batch and just wanted to see who thinks they had the most success, what equipment,  sources of c60 and olive oil they used, as well as their "recipe." 

Thanks in advance.

#2 Turnbuckle

• NO

Posted 16 November 2015 - 12:31 PM

I've been making C60 mixes since 2012, and for a long time I felt that keeping oxygen out was important. But research shows adding oxygen to C60 to form epoxides actually makes the stuff a better anti-oxidant. So this last batch I used my normal EVOO (California Ranch) and C60 (SES 99.95+ %, vacuum oven dried) at a .5mg/ml concentration. This I ground in a stainless mortar. I placed 1/2 L in a 1 L clear bottle and filled it with oxygen (from a Bernzomatic cylinder), capped and shook it aggressively. I repeated this a couple of times, added the ground C60 and stirrer bar, filled the bottle again with oxygen, capped and shook it, then placed it on a magnetic stirrer in the dark for one week. After that time some specks were still visible with a green laser, but when I filtered it at .22 micron, the filter paper was fairly clean. No dark specks were visible. The filtered liquid was a dark magenta in a 1/2 L vessel, but appears whiskey colored in a spoon. It may be more effective than what I had made previously since taking it (5 mg) I've had noticeably more energy than usual. 

Note: It's unlikely that epoxides actually form this way (as these generally require metal catalysts or ultrasonic treatment), so likely the O2 just accelerates the formation of adducts. Vacuum filtering should remove some of the oxygen, and subsequent freezing should stabilize it against rancidity.

• like x 3