• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Adverts help to support the work of this non-profit organisation. To go ad-free join as a Member.

Photo
- - - - -

Please help a newcomer help the cause

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 tenaya

• 3 posts

Posted 12 November 2005 - 10:27 AM

Hello friends and allies,

I am a freshman-year college student who is still very green in the subject of research that could prevent inevitable death. However, this subject is one that I have quietly felt very passionate about throughout my entire life, and I’m very glad to find such a resourceful, thriving community here. I went to college in the hopes that I could personally contribute to the efforts of this research, but am having difficulty knowing where to begin. Having completed most of my liberal education I am already being faced with the decision of which path to take. At first I thought I would be aiming for a bachelor degree in biological science, but now I’m considering a bachelor degree in biomedical engineering.

Can anyone give me advice? Is there a field of research that currently seems most promising in yielding results soon? What career would be most helpful within the next few years? What bachelor degree would I need to pursue it? (I will eventually be working toward a Master’s degree, then a Ph.D.) Any recommended colleges? I’m currently planning on transferring to the University of Minnesota. My natural talents are in biology, reading, writing, and ethical philosophy, but I am willing to learn whatever I must for the sake of this cause.