Photo
- - - - -

BUT! Who will bring us back?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 tsaacrna

• 3 posts

Posted 08 December 2005 - 05:46 PM

I am very new to the this forum and find the ideas discussed here fascinating. Personally, I believe that there is no physical law that states that it should not be possible to bring back cryonically preserved individuals in some form, someday in the future.

My question is WHO would WANT to? And who will be responsible? I have heard arguments to the effect that enlightened individuals will see the value of human life and want to restore it. I find this quite doubtful, as the history and present of humankind throws doubt on this idea.

It concerns me that I have not seen in whose interest is it to restore us, as cryonically preserved individuals? It seems to me that there must be some moral/religious, economic, and/or lawful imperative that promotes the restoration of individuals at the appropriate time.

So far I have not seen that problem dealt with and it makes me very concerned. Our culture seems to be morbidly afraid of crossing a perceived "natural" barrier between life and death. The act of restoring tissues or downloading minds, is an act which is accompanied with responsibility, for any therapies both physical and mental as well as preserving "a place in society" for these individuals. So far our families have that responsibility to help us and the government on some level as far as education, healthcare, etc.

Perhaps someone who is more educated in the process can throw some light on this matter of in whose interest it is to bring us back...
Thank you for any comments you may have.

#2 JonesGuy

• 1,183 posts

Posted 08 December 2005 - 06:12 PM

What's funny is that the people who set aside money to 'pay' for the awakening will likely awake much before those who will be awoken due to charity. Maybe much earlier.