- - - - -

Supplements for ADHD

supplements adhd

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 gambler180

• 3 posts

Posted 11 November 2014 - 01:00 PM

I have ADHD which means that I have problems staying motivated and my working memory is almost non existent which sucks because I'm studying biotechnology so I really need it. Chemistry and math is very hard to study without a working memory. Can someone here suggest some supplements that might help with motivation and working memory? I'm currently taking strattera but I don't think it's working. The effect of strattera is that it raises norepinephrine but I have read that I also need to increase my dopamine level to get more motivated.

Edited by gambler180, 11 November 2014 - 01:03 PM.

#2 AOLministrator

• 181 posts
  • NO

Posted 11 November 2014 - 01:16 PM

I have tried most of the non-addictive supplements and nootropics and none really work (including Selegiline, which is possibly but unlikely addictive). Though, you can increase brain function which will make you perform better even with the same 'amount' of ADHD. Though obviously that is not what you really want and nothing that really helps either. Those are the drugs I found have benefits:

- Piracetam (only in the sense of taking it long term, sometimes - it works a little bit immediately after a while)

- Aniracetam (works less immediately than piracetam imho)

- Selegiline (in short: it seems to greatly improve this 'entirely messed up, only can sleep and be depressive now' phenomenon I have in response to fighting too much against ADHD, but doesn't improve immediately focusing on a set task. Improves other things though, like visualizing things in my mind. Nothing overly dramatic though.)

- Vitamin C, magnesium ( placebo-alike )

- choline ( very very little benefit, but some )

- Ashwaganda (it sort of has side effects, but if you take it occasionally it seems to do something positive overall)