- - - - -

Weight vest or weight belt info?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Live Forever

• Guest Recorder
  • 7,475 posts

Posted 30 October 2007 - 04:59 AM

Does anyone know anything about weight vests or weight belts for training purposes? (which are good ones, how much benefit there is is to them, etc.)

Alternatively (or perhaps in conjunction) what about ankle weights? I have used ankle weights in the past when running although not recently, but I have never used a vest or belt before. I didn't know if anyone had had any experience training with them, or any advice in general. I am thinking of purchasing at least one of the 3.

#2 pSimonKey

• 158 posts

Posted 30 October 2007 - 12:50 PM

I have read good things about the X-Vest.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for EXERCISE to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 Shepard

• Member, Director, Moderator
  • 6,360 posts

Posted 30 October 2007 - 02:56 PM

I would go with the weight vest for general use. A good one will fit well and spread the load out evenly.

Ankle weights while running are a biomechanical nightmare. But, I wouldn't just toss on a 20-40lb vest and go running, either.

#4 Athanasios

• 2,616 posts

Posted 30 October 2007 - 04:38 PM

Definitely a vest. It is a good way to increase the difficulty of bodyweight exercises and drills. I bought mine from 'Training Zone Concepts' called the smart vest. It is exceptional but it took a while to get it to my door (had a backorder or something). I have also heard good things about the x-vest.

#5 Live Forever

• Topic Starter
  • Guest Recorder
  • 7,475 posts

Posted 30 October 2007 - 07:31 PM

Ankle weights while running are a biomechanical nightmare.