Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo

Hypothyroidism: Good Thing?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 pseudo-princess

• 25 posts

Posted 11 March 2008 - 02:15 AM

I'm beginning to think that I have hypothyroidism, as I'm experiencing some of the symptoms (fatigue, increased difficulty losing weight, rough pale skin, cold intolerance, menstrual irregularities)

I've been practicing calorie restriction for about two years now. I lost about 10 lbs doing that, but am still approximately 20-15 lbs overweight (BMI 23) with the excess weight primarily around my middle. This seems strange to me, since I eat about 1400 calories per day (5'4", female) and most of these calories come from low-fat protein and raw vegetables.

Before I go to a doctor about this, I was wondering if I should actually want to maintain an underactive thyroid for the slow-metabolic purposes of CR?
What do you guys think?

#2 Shepard

• Member, Director, Moderator
  • 6,360 posts

Posted 14 March 2008 - 10:44 PM

I'm beginning to think that I have hypothyroidism, as I'm experiencing some of the symptoms (fatigue, increased difficulty losing weight, rough pale skin, cold intolerance, menstrual irregularities)

This seems strange to me, since I eat about 1400 calories per day (5'4", female) and most of these calories come from low-fat protein and raw vegetables.

Calorie restriction is going to lower T3 concentration, but should not lower T4 or TSH. I don't know why anyone would want to have hypothyroidism in the hopes that it will extend life.

If you do have a thyroid issue, you might want to rethink the raw vegetables in case they are interfering with iodine uptake. How much fat do you get in your diet?

Click HERE to rent this BIOSCIENCE adspot to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 pseudo-princess

• Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted 15 March 2008 - 04:44 PM