- - - - -

Golfer's Elbow Tendinitis

tendinitis tendonitis tendons joints

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ta5

• 952 posts
Posted 29 November 2011 - 01:44 PM

I have had nagging "golfers elbow" tendinitis in my right arm for about 10 months now.

I have been weightlifting for 20 years. When the tendinitis started last year, it was not a single event, like where I was straining and said "ouch". When I first noticed it, I wasn't weightlifting or doing anything particularly straining. Nevertheless, I still blamed it on weightlifting, mainly curls. So, I stopped doing curls or any exercise that would stress my forearm. After 10 months, it's still not any better. Now, I have to consider what else is contributing to the problem. I'm scared, because at this rate it will never be better. This sucks.

So, what else am I doing that's making it worse? I still use my arm. I still lift everyday things, like my water pitcher, books, etc. Maybe I should put my arm in a brace for the next 10 months.

Now, for why I posted this in the supplements forum...

Searching these forums, there are several supplements that some people believe could contribute to tendinitis or other joint problems: resveratrol, pomegranate, and fish oil. If cox inhibition is the issue, we should also add curcumin, green tea, luteolin, and rosemary since they are also cox inhibitors. Any others?

Most information about these supplements will claim they should benefit joints. But, some people hypothesize that these reduce inflammation at the expense of healing.

I've been taking all these supplements for 7-13 years. If they are causing joint deterioration, then it's been a slow process. I don't believe I have any arthritis, only tendinitis. I can't think of anything I've changed in just the last year that could affect my tendons.