remeron

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 i_am

• 5 posts
  • NO

Posted 22 September 2013 - 02:14 PM

Hello everyone,

I am actively seeking a nootropic/notropics to counter the mental effects of Mirtazapine (Remeron). I get mental fog and poor concentration when using Mirtazapine. I looked up online and have noticed that Mirtazapine inhibits Acetyl Choline. As a result, I am looking to start using choline during the day. However, I am not sure what other impacts Mirtazapine may have on my mental health and how I can counter these effects. I use Mirtazapine for sleep, nothing else. I looked up Mirtazapine on wikipedia and it describes how it works but since I'm an engineering student and not a med student I don't understand it all. Please give me some advice. Thanks.

#2 nowayout

• 2,946 posts

Posted 22 September 2013 - 03:19 PM

Could you reduce the mirtazapine dose so it mostly clears out by morning? Since lower doses are more sedating, you could try cutting a 15 mg pill in halves or even quarters. You should still get sedation, maybe even more than at higher doses.

Since mirtazapine is sedating mainly because it is an antihistamine, possibly you could also get better results from the milder kind of over the counter or prescription antihistamine sleep aids, some of which also have shorter half lives than mirtazapine. As you have discovered, mirtazapine is a very dirty drug (does lots of things you don't want) and there are other much cleaner and more targeted antihistamines, for example.

It it bad medicine to take another drug just for the side effects of the first drug, when you could either reduce the dose of the first drug or replace it with something with less side effects.

Edited by nowayout, 22 September 2013 - 03:43 PM.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 i_am

• Topic Starter
  • 5 posts
  • NO