Nootropics interaction with Antidepressants

antidepressants nootropics interactions depression

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Dr Dastan

• 4 posts

Posted 07 January 2014 - 06:42 PM

Hello,
I am new to longecity and the subject of nootropics. I really need some help here.
I have been taking antidepressants for the last seven years. Currently i am taking escitalopram (10 mg) and mirtazapine (15 mg, at night).

I am doing a job and studying a post-graduate course which requires a lot of studying. I want to use some nootropics which do NOT interact with my antidepressants and improve my concentration, memory and mental energy.

I would be very grateful if someone can help me in this regard. I am considering the following nootropics but other supplements can also be suggested.

1. Ginko biloba
2. L-Tyrosine
3. DMAE
4. ALCAR
5. Huperzine A
6. L-Theanine
7. Piracetam + choline

( I have read that Rhodiola can interact with antidepressants).

Thank you very much for reading. I will be checking this page for replies, and i am eagerly waiting for some suggestions.

(P.S, english is not my first language so please pardon any mistakes).

#2 etizsupplyusa.com

• 33 posts

Posted 08 January 2014 - 01:51 AM

What is the mechanism for nootropics interacting with nootropics? Is it SSRI's, SNRI's, all antidepressants like tricyclics? Does this apply to racetams? This is curious and interesting, what are the side effects?
  • like x 1

sponsored ad

• Advert
Rent this spot in Nootropics Topics to support Longecity (this will replace the google ad).

#3 Nootropic Milk Hotel

• 91 posts
  • NO

Posted 08 January 2014 - 11:18 AM

I have read that SAMe is actually synergistic with SSRIs; it would be worth looking into.
  • like x 1

#4 Dr Dastan

• Topic Starter
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 January 2014 - 06:34 PM

Thanks for the suggestion.
SAM-e is not available in my country. It is expensive to have it imported.

Is it cosidered to be a nootropic ?