Photo

Low testosterone and loss (not decrease) in libido in a 22-year-old male

low testosterone testosterone 20s

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Axmann8

• 63 posts

Posted 04 August 2014 - 09:35 AM

Just a little background here. I'm a 22-year-old male, 5'11", ~200 lbs, I'm currently a nursing student. Quite a loner. Virtually zero real friends, etc. I was on SSRIs for years when I was young but been off of them for years now. I take Adderall ~30 mg daily for ADD-PI

I've always been able to get aroused quite easily (In fact, a couple of years ago I would've considered myself hypersexual. Got aroused quite frequently and had very little refractory period after orgasms.

Lately, say, within the last 6 or so months, I had noticed a profound decline in my sex drive. Not only that, but I had begun to have just a general sense of decreased focus and attention, melancholy/low energy, radical mood swings, headaches, among other things. Coming from a medical background, when I thought about all the symptoms together, I thought they were pretty characteristic of low testosterone. I had my doctor order the test.

My results just came back:

Testosterone: 201 ng/dL (Reference range: 241-827)
Free Testosterone: 55.8 (Reference range: 47-250)
Sex Hormone Binding Globulin: 15.1 nmol/L (Reference range: 16.5-55.9)

He just ordered follow-up tests for prolactin, LH, and FSH. Still waiting for the results (I'll update this later when they're in). Pending those results, I'll likely be sent to an endocrinologist.