• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Is Potassium Chloride safe to supplement?

potassium chloride electrolytes supplement dose nosalt salt substitute

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 protoject

• 952 posts

Posted 08 February 2021 - 02:22 AM

Is it okay to take a full dose of potassium chloride safely if you take it with a good amount of water and you're not deficient in other electrolytes?

Does it do anything negative to chloride levels in the body / does that matter?

Can the human body handle more than the recommended intake fairly easily as long as you're not going too far over?

........And a random question for fun: Did anyone notice strange effects when combining calcium and potassium? I swear one time I thought i was having some sort of seizure with twitching, but i had been doing a lot of "substances" for 3 months so maybe it had nothing to do with the supplements. It was so wierd though. It just felt like all my neural networks were firing off and then i got massive twitches all over but it wasn't enough for me to call 911. And i didn't take a massive dose of anything I was just on a normal cacium dose, probably like 50% of potassium, and 10 x the vitamin d needed (I have deficiency so sometimes I have to take that for like a week and then stop for a bit). I also interpreted this as "hypercalcemia" but I'm not sure that it actually fit the category of hypercalcemia, i think that must be more serious

#2 pamojja

• 2,827 posts

Posted 08 February 2021 - 10:30 AM

With full dose you mean the RDA in one go? - I think that would be dangerously too much.

But well desolved and divided troughout the day, after slowly having build up intake from very low doses, gradually increased over weeks, months and years, while monitoring symptoms and electrolytes with blood-work -  and adjusting intakes of all other electrolytes too - that could be savely possible.

sponsored ad