noob with aims and profile

nootropics

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 balille

• 2 posts
  • NO

Posted 17 November 2016 - 02:52 PM

I'm new to nootropics and could use a bit of help.

Maybe I'd best give you my profile and aims as well as possible:

I've been having sleeping problems for many years, especially a lack of deep sleep (slow-wave sleep). Falling asleep is fine. The causes are unknown, but I've been declared psychiatrically and psychologically normal, balanced, have a happy relationship and so on. I have great difficulties with focussing, very probably as a result of bad sleep, can't read a normal article or longer e-mail even if it's interesting, and have great difficulties with my memory, short- and long-term. This is despite very high cognitive abilities (IQ above 3 standard deviations, professionally tested, Mensa member). And of course, I'm very tired and exhausted all the time. I keep all the "sleep hygiene" guidelines and use coping and workaround mechanisms, so this area is exhausted. Doing a bit of running and weights, but usually I'm too tired for that. I'm over 35, male. I mention all of that because I've got no idea if in my case those nootropics will work that fight non-normal problems (brain damage, stroke, old age...) or if they won't work because I'm already at the upper cognitive end. Of course, ultimately only trying it will show.

Aims: get things done productively. So, - focus - memory - persistence? - cognition. That's more for fun, but I enjoy understanding things more widely and deeply, and it's frustrating how I've been limited.

Technical aspects:

I'm aware I should try nootropics one after the other, not all at once.

It's fine if it takes a bit of time.

If I had a choice, I'd prefer tablets or capsules, not powder I'd have to weigh exactly and make a mess of.

If necessary, it's OK if something can be taken only in spaced doses to avoid building up tolerance. Better than nothing.